The Scales of Balance


The Happy Balance

We have all heard of how important it is to have balance in your life. …balance between family, God, friends, work and fun. However, many times we don’t think about being balanced within ourselves.   Hoffman Institute teaches that there are several areas where balance is needed — Spiritual, Body, Intellectual, Emotional, and Inner Child.  After I attended the Hoffman Institute, this is something that I think about more.

I have been thinking about the Inner Child recently. This is the fun and just pointless excitement that you create in your life. It is non-goal related. It is “playing in the sand box” or “dancing to no music”.

I do a good job of creating “play” time and I always believed that this was balance. I recently learned that “play time” is not always being balanced.

You see, I was not playing for stress relief… or playing to enjoy… or playing to laugh…

I was playing to numb.

A great example of this is mindless watching of television. I would believe that I was feeding my inner child, or balancing life by taking a break from work to watch T.V. The truth is when I walk away from the TV, I am no more balanced than before. All I have done is numb the 4 quadrants of myself… spiritually, emotionally, intellectually, and physically and my inner child. Nothing is really fulfilled by watching T.V.

The point is that TV is just one example of an activity where there is no creativity, no spontaneity, no release or enjoyment — just mind-numbing-time-passing-blank-staring-at-a-box-on-the-wall.

I think of the days when I would just blast the stereo in the house and just live with the music rocking all the walls. The feeling of freedom and carefree-ness is what is really feeding your inner child.

We must balance all aspects of our life to feel truly happy and to work as an inner team, balanced and growing.

If your inner child does not get the same nourishment that your intellect gets from your work, then you will not ever be really fulfilled.

When was the last time you really fed your inner child?

How long since you had a pep rally for your need for fun.

When did you just take a shot of TV, and a snort of internet browsing, along with an injection of a crossword puzzle?

The point is fun activities in life are needed. Don’t substitute fun for numb. They are not the same. True fun will leave you better than it found you.

Laugh till your side hurts and you will be relieved and back in balance again. It just works.

From now on I will look for fun opportunities to balance my life by regularly having real true and meaningful fun time — within myself.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

